கதம்ப மாலை

Goodness of fit

Posted by Premalatha மேல் ஜூலை 12, 2007

Related topic: Making geniuses

consider a country like India. What options do we have? ……. We believe in route learning with a fierce emphasis on academics. Even if we have options we tend to pick a school that values academics more than anything. We derive our pride from the fact that our children can read much before the other kids. This mother I met at a Parent and Me class told me that she does not prefer a Montessori kind of teaching because, ‘They encourage the kid to do what the kid likes to do. What if my kid wants to paint and draw, when will she learn math and science? What good is it?’. ……..

………..The lack of options is based on culture. Indian culture, for that matter most of the eastern cultures, is all about fitting in…………..

………..I know how hard it is when you don’t fit in. I spent my whole school life trying to fit in. …………..

பின்னூட்டமொன்றை இடுக